1st Jiu-Jitsu Tournament: June 22, 2013

5 Minutes. 300 seconds. That was the length in time of my first Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu fight at the recently concluded NABJJF L.A. Open.
For those 5 minutes there was some other guy trying to do me harm. It was an experience that I will never forget.

Although I was defeated by my opponent on points, there were a lot of positives that I learned from this experience.

I learned that when faced with adversity, I can apply my knowledge and skills that I have learned in Jiu-JItsu and SURVIVE!
I learned that I still have that desire to be competitive in sports at my age.
I learned that my Jiu-JItsu journey will never be complete. It is ever evolving!
I learned that my teammates at Gracie Barra Pasadena got my back!
I learned that Jiu-Jitsu is fun!

So with all that I learned last weekend…there is still more to be learned and the only way to do that is to get back on the mats, with my teammates and
continue this lifelong journey.

The Great Grand Master Carols Gracie said it best…

564354_467157256652540_1874344015_n

This entry was posted in BJJ. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 1st Jiu-Jitsu Tournament: June 22, 2013

  1. Jon says:

    I’ve taken Grand Master Carlos’ philosophy to heart. I’m glad it was a positive experience for you. Everyone should compete at least once. Congratulations!

Leave a comment